Living with Autoimmune Diseases

I remember the day mydoctor told me I had a positive ANA blood test. She said “Don’t bealarmed, I am going to retest you.” A few days later the test results werein and the result was the same, my ANA (antinuclear antibody) test waspositive.  Fear settled in.

The doctor suggested Isee a rheumatologist to have further testing. The purpose of the ANA blood testor, antinuclear antibody test, alerts doctors there are autoimmune issuesoccurring within the body. At this time, doctors may choose to  run additional test to assist with making adiagnosis.

Antibodies are createdwithin the body to fight off viral infections or anything foreign that invadesthe body. However in my case, my body has created autoantibodies which attackthe healthy cells and tissues in my body. My autoantibodies have one mission,and that is to destroy what they have identified as an intruder. There is onething wrong with this mission, the autoantibodies are destroying my healthybody.

Well, therheumatologist ruled out several autoimmune diseases such as systemic lupus,Sjogren’s syndrome, and sclederma. I was however diagnosed with mixedconnective tissue disease and fibromyalgia. Mixed connective disease presentswith the symptoms of lupus, polymyositis, and scleroderma. Whereas fibromyalgiaaffects the soft tissue and the muscular system of the body. My symptomsconsist of joint and muscle plain, fatigue, weakness, photosensitivity,insomnia, brain-fog, occasional tingling in my feet and hands, and pleuriticchest pain to name a few. 

Living this way, withthese diseases…. Unless this is happening to you, most people will notunderstand what I experience on a daily basis. I suffer, and most of the time Isuffer silently. I try to share what I am going through, or may complain of abothersome symptom, but I am characterized as a chronic complainer, lazy, andpeople will say, “something is always wrong with you.” Well,something is always wrong with me!

I don’t want sympathy,I want understanding. I want to be able to talk about how I feel. Beingperceived as a hypochondriac, chronic complainer, or a sickly person can andhas resulted in mental and emotional abuse by those closest to me. Individualsliving with chronic diseases need support and understanding… I didn’t ask forthis, and trust me, if I could give it back I would, without hesitation. I maylook healthy on the outside but on the inside a war is raging.

I will share more ofmy story about living with autoimmune, other diseases, and humanperception.  

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started